Alumni Provide Leadership in Social Work Education

From L to R: Beverly Black – MSSW ’77 –Professor, University of Texas Arlington.  Mike Daley, PHD’83, Professor Texas A&M University – Central Texas. Mary Kurfess. MSSW ‘83 is  CSWE’s Director of Accreditation. Bill Heiss, MSSW ’82, University of Wisconsin-Madison, retired. Helen Petracchi, Phd ’92, Associate Professor University of Pittsburgh.

The Council on Social Work Education’s (CSWE) Commission on Accreditation (COA) is responsible for accrediting and re-affirming the accreditation of more than 800 undergraduate and MSW social work programs.  Four UW-Madison School of Social Work alums are members of the COA and, Mary Kurfess, MSSW ’83, is CSWE’s Director of Accreditation.

The photo above was taken at a recent meeting of the commission.